Reveille 

I have never been a morning person… just ask my family they DO NOT POKE THE BEAR😉! I am slow to wake up and definitely do not have conversation until I have had my first cup of coffee. Staying on a military base has many advantages, but from my perspective, the playing of Reveille🎺📢 in the morning waking me from my slumber is not. On the plus side I have been known to sleep the morning away so Revielle has helped me get moving earlier and there is a lot of ground to cover in this beautiful area of the USA!

Crazy Horse was another stop on our ride through the Black Hills 

 

This model is 1/34th the size of monument on the mountain 3/4 mile away in the distance. The first blast to start the monument was June 3, 1948. Like Mount Rushmore most of the work is done with dynamite.

Sculptor Korczak Ziolkiwski was 40 years old when he began this amazing process. He made a staircase that had 750 steps up. He made that trip up and down daily while being kept company with the Mountain Goats. It makes my knees hurt thinking about it and to think he was 40 years old when he STARTED..Whoa! He, his wife and 10 children worked together. Korczak passed away in 1982. His family continues the work. A strong believer in the free enterprise system, he felt Crazy Horse should be built by the interested public and not on the taxpayer. The work continues through his 7 children and the Crazy Horse Memorial a Nonprofit organization. 

 

The current work on the mountain is focusing on the horse’s head and finishing work on the hand 

 

So impressive! A must see if you are ever in the area.

We headed down the road taking in the sites of Custer State Park. Gorgeous winding roads. 

As we excited the park heading back towards our Mobile Condo we came upon some more presidents …Ron, George W.  and JFK!

       

Another full day under our belt. More fun to come!

Published by

webewingingit

Professional Nomads touring this beautiful country of ours one state at a time. Enjoying the journey without a plan because We Be Winging It

Leave a comment